#13 Arizona vs Oregon State

Saturday, April 2nd

12:00 PM

Oregon State University




Center Ian Hause '17 and the Wildcats look to continue their strong form in the past month.

March 31- Arizona will return to action after their Spring Break layoff as they head to Corvallis to take on Oregon State in the PAC-12 finale for 2016. The 13th-ranked Wildcats have named the side that will take on the Beavers, with Fullback Tyler Sousley one of the major changes from the side that defeated Notre Dame 47-10 on March 12th.


The Wildcats are, as usual, led by Captain and Lock Cesar Davila, who leads a group of Forwards that produced a strong performance against the Fighting Irish in the set piece and loose play. An unchanged front row of Cam Hudson, Steven Branham, and Mason Pedersen is joined by Davila and Lock Sean Coleman, as three of the Wildcats' four Junior All Americans start in the tight five. The backrow is also unchanged, with Sam Peri, Ryan Fitzpatrick, and Tyler Hansen in the side.


The backline is led by Vice Captain & Flyhalf Kyle Rogers, with Center Ian Hause slotting inside and pairing with Shane Dempsey. In the outside backs, Ben Joseph starts at Wing with Tyler Sousley and Jeremy Fleet returning to the lineup. 


In the reserves, a dynamic group of Forwards includes Bryce Mantell, Hector Ramirez, Matthew May, Dacoda Worth, Ian Crilly, and Jake Rice in a 6-2 split for the Wildcats. Young scrumhalf Matt Rogers and Wing/Fullback Adam Wilson make up the rest of the bench that hopes to provide impact against Oregon State if called upon.


For Head Coach Sean Duffy, the layoff has provided the opportunity to re-charge the team's batteries, finetune some details, and solidify roles. "Between our fitness scores and our work in training, it's been a lot of fun the past few weeks seeing the growth in this group and it's a credit to our captains for setting the tone" said Duffy.


The Wildcats seek their 4th win in a row and their third straight against Oregon State. In their most recent meeting, Arizona emerged with a 60-12 victory over the Beavers in 2015. With the D1A playoffs fast approaching, the Wildcats look to improve their standing in the hopes of earning an invitation to the field for this year's event. 




Lineup (Click for bio)

1. Cam Hudson

2. Steven Branham

3. Mason Pedersen

4. Sean Coleman

5. Cesar Davila (C)

6. Sam Peri

7. Ryan Fitzpatrick

8. Tyler Hansen

9. Jonah Eldridge

10. Kyle Rogers

11. Ben Joseph

12. Ian Hause

13. Shane Dempsey

14. Jeremy Fleet

15. Tyler Sousley


16. Bryce Mantell

17. Hector Ramirez

18. Matthew May

19. Dacoda Worth

20. Ian Crilly

21. Jake Rice

22. Matt Rogers

23. Adam Wilson