top of page



 #9 Arizona vs Cal Poly

Saturday March 24

Kino Sports Complex

3:00 PM PST





Kyle Rogers leads the Wildcats in his final regular season game before a hopeful trip to the 2018 playoffs.. (Photo credit: Chris Mooney)

March 23- Arizona will close out their regular season on Saturday as part of a special event, taking on Cal Poly as part of the 2018 Tucson Cup at Kino Sports Complex. 

The 9th-ranked Wildcats have made two changes from the team that defeated #15 San Diego State last Saturday, with Captain Kyle Rogers and Vice Captain Sean Coleman leading the team that hopes to punch their ticket to the playoffs. 

In the Forwards, Arizona's dynamic Lock duo of Coleman and Bronson Teles will feature heavily, with Teles being named Wildcat of the Week for his standout performance last weekend. "He just continues to grow in to the role and he's got a great big brother in Sean Coleman" said Head Coach Sean Duffy. In the backline, Garrett Walker slides in to Wing in place of Ryan Hudson and looks to get loose against the tough Cal Poly defense. "A tremendous Fall Sevens season for him and he's carried that in to Spring as we've seen in a number of our Second XV matches. A nice peek in to the future on Saturday as he's a key piece of it." George Niethammer makes his first appearance in the roster for the First XV hoping to make his debut after a strong week of training.

Arizona Second XV will also return to action this weekend, taking on Cal Poly Second XV immediately following the first side match. Admission to the Tucson Cup is free with fans encouraged to attend earlier matches in the day and evening matches following the Wildcats' game. Arizona Second XV will close their regular season on April 7th when they welcome New Mexico to Tucson.

First XV vs Cal Poly

1- Cody Hunt

2- Steven Branham

3- Karl Steffany

4- Sean Coleman (VC)

5- Bronson Teles

6- Sinclair Clinton

7- Zach Heisterkamp

8- Tyler Hansen

9- Matt Rogers

10- Anton Grigoriou

11- Dante Weeks

12- Tom Molloy

13- Ben Joseph

14- Garrett Walker

15- Kyle Rogers (C)


16- Zach Biggs

17- Chris McBride

18- Chaz Huntsman

19- Ben Scoular

20- Bobby Butchofsky

21- Jonah Eldridge

22- Kyle Fulton

23- George Niethammer


bottom of page