top of page


Tri Captains.jpg

Jon Rogers is joined by Figley and Rivers in leading the Wildcats in their season debut tomorrow. (Photo credits: Chris Mooney)

Jan 28- #12 Arizona has announced their on-field leadership as well as the squad that will open the season tomorrow against #13 UCLA. Jon Rogers will captain the side from Fullback, while Flyhalf Robert Figley and Lock James Rivers assume the Vice Captaincy roles for the 2022 season.

For Rogers, the honor is the latest for the standout from Granite Bay, California and a testament to his leadership through quite an unpredictable last 18 months. "Jon is just a warrior. We've all learned a lot the last 18 months but I've learned a lot about him too. In a way it's been a true test of a captain and it's shown me that he has what it takes" said Director of Rugby Sean Duffy. "It's an honor to be named captain, we have a very strong squad that is going to turn a lot of heads this season and I can't wait to take the pitch with the boys" said Rogers.

Joining Rogers in the veteran backline will be Vice Captain Robert Figley, who combine with Center Matthew Start and Wing Kyle Fulton to give the Wildcats a veteran group in the backs. Up front, Vice Captain James Rivers leads the Forwards and pairs with recent USA U20 Camp invitee Jack Brown, who is coming off an impressive start to the Spring. Fellow USA invitees Jake Broselle, EJ Freeman, and George O'Brien also make up the starting squad that hopes to defend Sitton Field.

Opponent Preview: UCLA

UCLA comes in to the match at 1-0 after defeating UC-San Diego in a friendly last weekend in Los Angeles. The Wildcats have historically fared well against the Bruins and will look to keep that streak alive in their season kickoff.

How to watch: 

Where: William David Sitton Field

Kickoff: 2 PM MST

Fans will return to Sitton Field for the first time since 2020 with entry at the North Gate starting at 1:30 PM. University of Arizona students are free with CatCard and general admissions tickets are $7. Children 12 and under are also free.

Food & Giveaways:

-First 100 Fans: Monster Energy Drink

-Food Truck: Drew's Dogs


For those unable to make it, a webcast of the match will be available here.




1- Seamus McCarthy

2- Zach Barker

3- Harry Bluck

4- Jack Brown

5- James Rivers 

6- Jack McCrossin

7- EJ Freeman

8- Carter Clarke

9- George O'Brien

10- Robert Figley

11- Jacob Broselle

12- Matthew Start

13- Abe Turpen

14- Kyle Fulton

15- Jon Rogers (C)


16- Cameron Blair

17- Liam Swanson

18- Caeden Chase

19- Aidan Hendry

20- Tyler Heer

21- Maxime Cathala

22- Lucas Agasse

23- Ted Champion



bottom of page